41853847
CSDESKPLNL
Zobrazit kategorie

Trip to discover the landscape around Kuřívody

The trip is suitable for cyclotourism. Břehyňský rybník pond and Máchovo Lake are situated along the route.
 
 

Kuřívody

Kuřívody was formerly a town and currently is the main part of the town of Ralsko. Of its historical sight there are the Kuřívody citadel and the Church of St. Gall. The original construction of the citadel dates back to the beginning of the 14th century and it was almost square, surrounded by strong ramparts and a moat with drawbridge. From the 15th century it belonged to the Berks of Dubé and was gradually rebuilt. In 1866, the building served as a hospital for wounded soldiers after the battle at Kuřívody. Its current form dates back to the 19th century, when the entrance tower was lowered. In the 20th century, Kuřívody became part of the Ralsko military territory, which was occupied by the Soviet army in 1968-1991. The Church of St. Gall dates back to the period of the last Přemyslids and is exceptional due to its unique Gothic murals from the 13th and 14th centuries.

Swamp national nature monument

SWAMP is a unique peat bog with many little pools. It was created in sandy alluvium in a bay on the south-eastern shore of Máchovo Lake as a result of the ground water level rising when this reservoir was built. There are various kinds of algae and rare northern species of beetles and birds.

Mácha Lake

The largest body of water in the Doksy pond system is a famous recreational resort. Máchovo Lake is called a lake but in fact is a pond. It is the biggest pond in north Bohemia. It was established in 1366 by King Charles IV. There are two little islands in the lake – Myší and Kachní. The islands are significant ornithological locations and it is forbidden to land on them. Máchovo Lake is lined by 4 large sandy beaches. Joyrides on excursion boats, the aquapark on Starosplavská beach, beach volleyball and other sports are also very popular.

 Jestřebí

The municipality is situated about 8 km north of Doksy. The oldest written records date back to 1295 when a rock castle called Jestřebí is mentioned. All parts of the municipality had several owners, among them also the Smiřický family, who sold the manor to the Vartenberks; after being confiscated, it was gained by Albrecht von Wallenstein. The upper rock block with remnants of the tower and palace is not accessible to visitors, only the lower rock is accessible.

Provodínské kameny stones

A group of 6 igneous hills, which are mostly basalt, runs from the north to the northeast of Provodín, near Jestřebí. The highest peak is Lysá skála (419 m), but people prefer to call it Spící panna (Sleeping Beauty) because from a certain angle it resembles the face of a reposing girl. The top, up to which runs quite a difficult path, offers visitors panoramic views. The other hills are Puchavec, Michlův vrch, Pitrův vrch, Strausův vrch and Dlouhý vrch, which is the only phonolite one.

Hradčanská pahorkatina upland

A protected area, declared in 1993, which will enchant visitors with its protected species of flora and geomorphological formations – rock towers, gates, tea tables, etc. Among the most well-known formations are Skalní brána (a miniature of the better-known Pravčická brána), Psí kostely – a rock penetrated by tunnels and caves, Dub, Havraní skála and Tvarožník. Currently, the municipality is a resort centre offering trips into the surroundings, swimming in Hradčanský pond and an inexhaustible number of places for mushroom picking.

Former military airport in Hradčany

It was left here after the Soviet army and is a paradise for in-liners.

Attachment

  • ikona souboru

Navigation

 
Infocentrum Mladá Boleslav
Železná 107
293 01 Mladá Boleslav
tel.: +420 326 109 405
email: infocentrum@kulturamb.cz
 
EU
Publikační a redakční systém Public4u © 2000-2022
load