Zobrazit kategorie

The Rural Conservation Area of Střehom

Střehom, 294 04

QR kód kontaktů pro Váš mobilní telefon
The rural conservation area was proclaimed in 1995; it includes a picturesque stone belfry and a set of houses with a mill from 1516 that particularly stands out among them.

Střehom is a small village with an irregular layout. Most of the buildings in the village are log farmsteads with two-level houses with carved gables from the end of the 18th century, completed with ground floor log houses for poorer people. Homesteads Nos. 1, 3, 7 and 11 are protected as cultural monuments of the Czech Republic. House No. 3 dates back to 1802, house No. 7 to 1799 and house No. 11 was built around 1800.

The most valuable buildings in the area are the log water mill (No. 12) from 1516 and the neighbouring homestead No. 11. Today’s two-floor log building comes probably from the second half of the 18th century. It was used until 1952. The preserved water wheel used to be powered by water from Klenice Brook. Currently, the mill is not used for milling and serves only as a private house. However, the mill wheel is functional and the owner will occasionally run it. Originally, the mill was all timbered, but wood was later replaced by stone walls. 

Many fairy-tale films have been shot in the village.



Infocentrum Mladá Boleslav
Železná 107
293 01 Mladá Boleslav
tel.: +420 326 109 405
email: infocentrum@kulturamb.cz
Publikační a redakční systém Public4u © 2000-2023